Neuberger-Jesin Professor of International Conflict Resolution

About

The Neuberger-Jesin Professor is active as a conflict resolution expert internationally and engages students from uOttawa in such work to enhance their own training in resolution, mediation and arbitration of international conflicts. The Neuberger-Jesin Professor also operates a clinical course in international conflict resolution as part of an international mediation lab under the auspices of the professorship.

Donors

The Neuberger-Jesin International Conflict Resolution Professorship was created thanks to a generous gift by spouses Edie Neuberger and Norm Jesin, who attended the Faculty of Law, Common Law Section together and graduated in 1981.

“We believe that we have the responsibility to make this world a better place,” said Ms. Neuberger and Mr. Jesin upon the inaugural awarding of the professorship.

Edie Neuberger is a lawyer in private practice in Toronto. Norm Jesin, a labour lawyer, arbitrator and mediator, knows first-hand the importance of conflict resolution skills.

John Packer

John Packer

Professor John Packer is an experienced practitioner with over 30 years of professional experience including 20 years with the United Nations (UNHCR, ILO, OHCHR, UNDPA) and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (HCNM). He has an active professional practice with experience in almost every region of the world, having advised numerous governments, intergovernmental organizations, communities and other actors in over fifty countries. In 2012-2014, he was the Constitutions and Process Design Expert on the UN's Standby Team of Mediation Experts advising on fifteen conflict situations. From 1995 to 2004, he served as Senior Legal Adviser, then first Director of the OSCE's High Commissioner on National Minorities conducting quiet preventive diplomacy and a range of successful mediation processes across Central and Eastern Europe and throughout the former Soviet Union.

Professor Packer is also the Director of the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) at the University of Ottawa. The focus of his research and practice is at the inter-section of human rights (including minority rights) and security, notably conflict prevention and resolution, international peace mediation, diversity management, transitional arrangements, constitutional and legal reform, and institutional developments at domestic and multilateral levels.

Click here to visit his Faculty profile page.

Collaborators
Annual Report

Content to come

Back to top

Professeur de la bourse Neuberger-Jesin pour l’étude de la résolution de conflits internationaux

À propos

Le Professeur Neuberger-Jesin est un expert en résolution de conflits à l'échelle internationale et engage des étudiants de l'Université d'Ottawa dans ce travail afin d'améliorer leur propre formation en résolution, médiation et arbitrage de conflits internationaux. Le professeur Neuberger-Jesin offre également un cours clinique en résolution de conflits internationaux dans le cadre d'un laboratoire de médiation internationale sous les auspices de la chaire.

Donateurs

La bourse professorale Neuberger-Jesin sur la résolution de conflits internationaux a été créée grâce à un don généreux des conjoints Edie Neuberger et Norm Jesin, qui ont fréquenté ensemble la Faculté de droit, section Common Law, et ont obtenu leur diplôme en 1981.

« Nous croyons que nous avons la responsabilité de rendre ce monde meilleur », ont déclaré Mme Neuberger et M. Jesin lors de l'attribution inaugurale de la chaire.

Edie Neuberger est une avocate en pratique privée à Toronto. Norm Jesin, avocat spécialisé dans le droit du travail, arbitre et médiateur, connaît de première main l'importance des compétences en matière de résolution de conflits.

John Packer

John Packer

Le professeur John Packer est un praticien chevronné avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience professionnelle, dont 20 ans auprès des Nations Unies (HCR, OIT, HCDH, UNDPA) et de l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE). Il a une pratique professionnelle active et une expérience dans presque toutes les régions du monde, ayant conseillé de nombreux gouvernements, organisations intergouvernementales, communautés et autres acteurs dans plus de cinquante pays. En 2012-2014, il a été l'expert en constitution et en conception de processus au sein de l'équipe d'experts en médiation de l'ONU chargée de donner des conseils sur quinze situations de conflit. De 1995 à 2004, il a été conseiller juridique principal, puis premier directeur du Haut-Commissariat pour les minorités nationales de l’OSCE, menant une diplomatie préventive discrète et une série de processus de médiation réussis en Europe centrale et orientale et dans l'ex-Union soviétique.

Le professeur Packer est également directeur du Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) de l'Université d'Ottawa. Ses recherches et sa pratique sont axées sur l'interdépendance des droits de la personne (y compris les droits des minorités) et de la sécurité, notamment la prévention et le règlement des conflits, la médiation internationale pour la paix, la gestion de la diversité, les dispositions transitoires, la réforme constitutionnelle et juridique, et les développements institutionnels aux niveaux national et multilatéral.

Cliquez ici pour consulter la page de son profil de professeur..

Collaborateurs
Rapport annuel
Haut de page