International Law
International Law

Studying international law has become essential to practicing law in the 21st century. Since the end of the Second World War, there has been an explosion of international legal instruments dealing with matters as diverse as human rights, economic and social development, the environment and trade. Globalization has internationalized a variety of issues that were once of only domestic concern. Canada’s laws are increasingly a hybrid of purely domestic regulations and laws implementing international obligations.

International Law at uOttawa: Open to the World

Knowledge of international law provides students with insight and skills beneficial in a wide variety of contexts, both domestic and international. Career opportunities range from traditional legal practice to work with international organizations, NGOs and government across a broad spectrum of legal and policy issues.

The uOttawa Faculty of Law is home to a large group of globally recognised scholars in the area of International Law. Members of the International Law Group engage in world-class research and make important contributions to public debate on international law issues. The International Law Group organizes regular talks and presentations by leading international lawyers on topical issues.

JD Students have access to the most extensive selection of international law courses in Canada and can specialize in international law by enrolling in the Option in International Law. uOttawa students can participate in international law activities outside the classroom, including international law moots, internships, clerkships and more than a dozen student organizations involved in international law issues. 

The Faculty prepares JD and graduate students from all over the world for careers in the practice of international law and in academia. Common Law alumni work in a wide range of international law settings worldwide.

JD Students

The University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law (Common Law Section) offers an extensive program of courses in international law and many of our graduates go on to work as lawyers in international organizations, governments, law firms, businesses and NGOs.

We offer an International Law Option that allows students to develop a comprehensive understanding of public international law; to explore several specialized fields of international law, including international human rights and security, trade and investment, criminal, environmental, intellectual property, immigration and refugee, and business law; and to gain practical experience in the field through clinics, moots, and internships. 

Academic Opportunities

The Option in International Law for JD students provides a curriculum plan which identifies the courses that will give you the right training for a career in International Law. The Option also offers you the choice (not mandatory) to have your specialization in International Law noted on your transcript in order to indicate to future employers the special expertise you have developed in this area. A list of current courses that qualify for the Option in International Law can be found here.

Student Organizations

These student organizations are involved in a wide range of activities at the law school including speakers on international law subjects and career opportunities.

International Law Organizations
Clerkships and Internships

The University of Ottawa has placed a number of students as clerks at the International Court of Justice:

The University of Ottawa offers many opportunities for internships. These include:

  • Internship with the Canadian Yearbook of International Law
  • Internship with the House of Commons Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade
  • Internship with Global Affairs Canada
  • Internship with the Canadian Council on International Law
  • Internship with the Department of Justice War Crimes Section
  • Internship at the International Court of Justice
  • Internships at the World Trade Organization in many divisions, including:
    • the Secretariat
    • the Appellate Body Secretariat
    • the Legal Affairs Division; and
    • the Rules Division.
  • Internship with the Justice Governance Group
  • Student-Proposed Internships
International Law Moots

Participating in a moot (a mock trial, negotiation or arbitration) is a great way for students to develop the skills involved in litigation and arbitration including public speaking, legal research and legal writing. uOttawa participates in the following moots in the area of International Law:

More information on how to participate in moots can be found here.

Graduate Studies

The University of Ottawa offers programs in law at the master’s and doctoral levels. Our programs provide students with an opportunity to work with Canada’s top public law scholars on core questions of public law as well as on emerging and evolving issues.

Master of Laws (LLM)

The LL.M. program facilitates rigorous academic study of pressing public questions. To learn more, we invite you to read about the degree requirements and faculty members working in this field.

Partner Universities

Thanks to agreements with our partner universities, LLM students can obtain a uOttawa LLM plus a LLM from one of the following universities:

These partnerships allow students to obtain two separate LLMs, one from uOttawa and one from a partner institution, in less time than would be required to obtain each individually. Our partner schools have agreed to recognize some uOttawa credits as counting toward the completion of their LLM degree. uOttawa will also recognize some credits obtained at our partner institutions. Please click the links above for details about these opportunities.

International Humanitarian and Security Law

The field of International Humanitarian and Security Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa encompasses not only the study of the established laws of armed conflict, but also includes legal scholarship on contemporary challenges to peace and collective security.  Students completing the LL.M. with concentration in International Humanitarian and Security Law have a unique opportunity to study and work on crucial issues of international law, conflict resolution, national security, and peace building.

We invite you to explore the Program Requirements and Course Descriptions.

International Trade and Investment Law

International trade and investment law is central to the workings of our interdependent economies.  Almost all countries have trade and investment relationships with their neighbours, or within wider groupings.  Regional trade agreements and bilateral investment agreements number in the thousands, and the World Trade Organisation (WTO) has attained a pre-eminence few international organisations can claim.  Yet, international trade and investment law has an impact well beyond the purely “economic” sphere and is a key component of the resolution of global issues. For instance, problems related to climate change cannot be resolved satisfactorily without reference to trade and investment disciplines.  Even the task of dealing with global health issues has required at times an incursion into trade and investment law.

We invite you to explore the Program Requirements and Course Descriptions. 

Global Sustainability and Environmental Law

Issues of global sustainability and environmental law are among the most pressing and complex issues at the global, national and local levels. From the UN to Canadian municipalities, and from multinational corporations to individual citizens, attempts to meet the challenges of global sustainability are evolving at an ever-increasing rate. The role of environmental law in addressing these issues is the focus of the LL.M. with concentration in Global Sustainability and Environmental Law.

We invite you to explore the Program Requirements and Course Descriptions.

Ph.D. Students

The Ph.D. degree provides students with advanced training in academic research to prepare them to pursue a career in academe. These research skills can also be used to pursue careers with governmental and non-governmental organizations, international organizations, and other policy organizations. The admission process is competitive and only the most outstanding applicants are selected. For information on how to apply to the Ph.D. program, please click here.

Contact Us

International Law Group Co-Chairs

Prof. Anthony VanDuzer (bio)
Anthony.VanDuzer@uottawa.ca

Prof. Pacifique Manirakiza (bio)
Pacifique.Manirakiza@uOttawa.ca

Prof. Patrick Dumberry (bio)
Patrick.Dumberry@uOttawa.ca

Stay Informed

Stay informed on the latest from the International Law Group.

News
Events
Research & Publications
Faculty
Back to top

Droit international
Droit international

Notre faculté compte un grand nombre de professeurs à plein temps qui sont reconnus tant sur la scène internationale qu’au Canada et qui, ensemble, cumulent une vaste expérience dans tous les domaines du droit international. Nous offrons un programme extensif de cours de droit international et bon nombre de nos diplômés et diplômées travaillent ensuite comme juristes auprès d’organismes internationaux, d’administrations publiques, de cabinets juridiques, d’entreprises et d’organismes non gouvernementaux (ONG).

Le droit international à l’Université d’Ottawa : Ouverture sur le monde

Notre faculté compte un grand nombre de professeurs à plein temps qui sont reconnus tant sur la scène internationale qu’au Canada et qui, ensemble, cumulent une vaste expérience dans tous les domaines du droit international. Nous offrons un programme extensif de cours de droit international et bon nombre de nos diplômés et diplômées travaillent ensuite comme juristes auprès d’organismes internationaux, d’administrations publiques, de cabinets juridiques, d’entreprises et d’organismes non gouvernementaux (ONG).

Étudiants au J.D.

La Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa (Section de common law) offre une Option en droit international pour les étudiants inscrits au programme de J.D. Notre faculté compte un grand nombre de professeurs à plein temps qui sont reconnus tant sur la scène internationale qu’au Canada et qui, ensemble, cumulent une vaste expérience dans tous les domaines du droit international. Nous offrons un programme extensif de cours de droit international et bon nombre de nos diplômés et diplômées travaillent ensuite comme juristes auprès d’organismes internationaux, d’administrations publiques, de cabinets juridiques, d’entreprises et d’organismes non gouvernementaux (ONG).

L’Option permet aux étudiants et étudiantes d’obtenir une vue en profondeur du droit public international, d’explorer divers domaines de spécialisation en droit international, notamment les droits de la personne et la sécurité à l’échelle internationale, le commerce et l’investissement, le droit pénal, le droit de l’environnement, la propriété intellectuelle, le droit de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié ainsi que le droit des affaires, et d’acquérir de l’expérience pratique du domaine grâce à des cliniques, des concours de plaidoirie et des stages de travail.

Possibilités d’études

L’Option en droit international pour les étudiants au J.D. offre un plan d’études qui identifie les cours essentiels pour ceux et celles qui souhaitent entreprendre une carrière en droit international. Cette Option vous permet également (ce n’est pas obligatoire) de faire inscrire la spécialisation en droit international dans votre relevé de notes afin d’indiquer à l’intention de vos futurs employeurs l’expertise unique que vous avez acquise dans ce domaine. Vous trouverez ici la liste des cours actuels obligatoires de l’Option en droit international.

Organisations étudiantes

Ces organisations étudiantes sont impliquées dans une vaste gamme d’activités à la faculté de droit, notamment en sollicitant des conférenciers sur des sujets de droit international et en dénichant des possibilités de carrières dans ce domaine.

Organisations de droit international
Postes d’auxiliaires juridiques et stages en droit

L’Université d’Ottawa a placé un certain nombre de ses étudiantes et étudiants à des postes d’auxiliaires juridiques/de stagiaires à la Cour internationale de Justice :

L’Université d’Ottawa offre maintes possibilités de stages et autres. Ces possibilités comprennent :

  • Stage auprès de l’Annuaire canadien de droit international
  • Stage auprès du Comité de la Chambre des communes sur les Affaires étrangères et le Commerce international
  • Stage auprès des Affaires mondiales Canada
  • Stage auprès du Conseil canadien de droit international
  • Stage auprès de la Section des crimes de guerre du ministère de la Justice
  • Stage auprès de la Cour internationale de Justice
  • Stages auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce dans ses différentes divisions, notamment ::
    • le Secrétariat
    • le Secrétariat de l’Organe d’appel
    • la Division des affaires juridiques; et
    • la Division des règles de droit
  • Stage auprès de Justice Governance Group
  • Stages proposés par l’étudiante ou l’étudiant
Concours de plaidoirie en droit international

La participation à un concours de plaidoirie (simulation de procès, de négociation ou d’arbitrage) est une excellente façon pour les étudiants d’affûter leurs habiletés et techniques en matière de procès et d’arbitrage, notamment leurs aptitudes à s’exprimer en public et en recherche et en rédaction juridiques. L’Université d’Ottawa participe aux concours de plaidoirie suivants dans le domaine du droit international :

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des modalités de participation à ces différents concours de plaidoirie et tribunaux-écoles interuniversitaires, rendez-vous ici.

Étudiants au doctorat

La Faculté des études supérieures en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa offre des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat. Bien que les étudiants et étudiantes puissent poursuivre des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat sur le sujet de leur choix, nous tenons à mettre l’accent sur les domaines du droit international et des droits de la personne de même que sur les disciplines associées à nos concentrations énumérées à la liste des cours offerts dans le cadre de la maîtrise.

maîtrise en droit

Ce programme de maîtrise permet à l’étudiant, l’étudiante d’acquérir de solides connaissances théoriques qui l’aideront à approfondir sa compréhension des  problèmes de sécurité collective qui se posent en ce 21e siècle et à contribuer à la découverte de solutions. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les sections réservées aux exigences du grade et aux membres du corps professoral œuvrant dans ce domaine.

Nous vous invitons à explorer les exigences du programme et les descriptions de cours.

Universités partenaires

Grâce aux ententes conclues avec certaines universités, les étudiantes et étudiants en maîtrise (LL.M.) peuvent, en plus d’effectuer leur maîtrise à l’Université d’Ottawa, obtenir un LL.M. dans l’une des universités suivantes :

Ces partenariats permettent aux étudiants d’obtenir deux maîtrises en droit distinctes, l’une de l’Université d’Ottawa et l’autre de l’institution partenaire, en moins de temps qu’il faudrait normalement pour les obtenir chacune individuellement. Nos établissements partenaires ont convenu de reconnaître certains crédits de l’Université d’Ottawa qui comptent dans le calcul applicable à l’obtention de leur diplôme de maîtrise. L’Université d’Ottawa reconnaîtra également certains crédits obtenus auprès de nos institutions partenaires. Prière de cliquer sur les liens ci-dessus pour consulter les détails relatifs à ces possibilités.

Droit humanitaire et droit de la sécurité internationale

La concentration en droit humanitaire et droit de la sécurité internationale à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa englobe non seulement l’étude des lois établies en matière de conflits armés, mais également la recherche juridique sur les menaces à la paix et à la sécurité publique. Les étudiants et étudiantes qui poursuivent une maîtrise en droit humanitaire et en droit de la sécurité internationale ont là une occasion unique d’étudier et de travailler sur des enjeux fondamentaux en matière de droit international, de résolution des conflits, de sécurité nationale et d’édification de la paix.

Nous vous invitons à explorer les exigences du programme et les descriptions de cours.

Droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers

Le droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers est capital pour le fonctionnement de nos économies interdépendantes. Presque tous les pays entretiennent des relations commerciales et en matière d’investissement avec leurs voisins ou des États membres d’un plus vaste regroupement. Les accords commerciaux régionaux et les accords d'investissements bilatéraux se comptent par milliers et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) jouit désormais d’une autorité dont peu d’organisations internationales peuvent se targuer. Toutefois, les répercussions du droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers dépassent la sphère purement « économique » et constituent une composante déterminante pour la résolution de problèmes mondiaux. Par exemple, on peut difficilement s’attaquer aux problèmes liés aux changements climatiques sans recourir aux disciplines relatives au commerce et aux investissements. Et même le traitement des questions de santé à l’échelle mondiale exige à l’occasion que l’on se réfère au droit du commerce et des investissements.

Nous vous invitons à explorer les exigences du programme et les descriptions de cours.

Droit de l’environnement et du développement durable

Les enjeux liés à la durabilité et au droit de l’environnement sont parmi les plus  urgents et les plus complexes de l’heure et ce, à tous les échelons : mondial, national et local. Que les efforts proviennent des Nations unies, des municipalités canadiennes, ou encore des sociétés multinationales ou même des particuliers, les tentatives pour relever les défis de la durabilité à l’échelle mondiale ne cessent d’augmenter à un rythme effréné. Dans cette optique, la concentration en droit de l’environnement et du développement durable porte principalement sur le rôle du droit de l’environnement pour résoudre ces problèmes.

Nous vous invitons à explorer les exigences du programme et les descriptions de cours.

doctorat Étudiants

Le Doctorat en droit prépare les étudiants qui ont une formation poussée en recherche universitaire à la poursuite d’une carrière dans l’enseignement universitaire. Les compétences en recherche peuvent aussi mener à des carrières au sein d’organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales, ainsi qu’internationales, en plus d’autres organisations axées sur les politiques. Le processus d’admission est compétitif et seuls les candidates, candidats les plus remarquables sont sélectionnés. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les modalités de candidature au programme de doctorat (Ph. D.), veuillez cliquer ici.

Contactez-nous

Coordonnateurs de l'option en droit international

Professeur Anthony VanDuzer (bio)
Anthony.VanDuzer@uottawa.ca

Professeur Pacifique Manirakiza (bio)
Pacifique.Manirakiza@uOttawa.ca

Professeur Patrick Dumberry (bio)
Patrick.Dumberry@uOttawa.ca 

Tenez-vous au courant

Tenez-vous au courant des toutes dernières nouvelles du Groupe de droit international.

Nouvelles
Événements

There are no results for this content list.

Recherches et publications
Corps professoral
Haut de page