Welcome to

The Common Law Section has always enjoyed a reputation for graduating some of the greatest advocates in Ontario.  Our earliest graduates tell us uOttawa excelled in advocacy competitions from the very beginning.

Welcome to Advocacy at uOttawa

The Common Law Section has always enjoyed a reputation for graduating some of the greatest advocates in Ontario.  Our earliest graduates tell us uOttawa excelled in advocacy competitions from the very beginning.  Today many of our graduates are leaders in the advocacy bar.

Although much has changed in our law school over the past 50 years, our commitment to advocacy education has not.  What may have changed is our conception of advocacy which today includes not only trial and appellate courtroom advocacy, but advocacy before tribunals, international advocacy, negotiation, settlement, mediation.

JD Students

Every first year student has an opportunity to participate in one of our internal moot court competitions, either the Nelligan O’Brien Payne Moot Court Competition or the Heenan Blaikie Moot Court Competition.   Each first year student takes a three week intensive course in Dispute Resolution.  Upper year students may select from a wide range of optional courses.  We sponsor many competitive advocacy teams who have achieved success on the national and international scene. 

Opportunities

The Common Law Section offers a wide variety of internal opportunities for students interested in pursuing studies in Advocacy.  Our two internal moots, the Nelligan O’Brien Payne Moot Court Competition and the Heenan Blaikie Moot Court Competition, offer first-year students a chance to get hands-on experience in appeal scenarios while developing written and oral advocacy skills. 

Participation in a first-year moot also allows students to evaluate whether they have the ability and interest to take part in one of the many external moot court competitions available to upper-year students.  We sponsor many competitive advocacy teams that have achieved great success at both national and international levels in subject areas that range from criminal law to international commercial arbitration.  Upper-year students may also select from a wide range of optional advocacy courses, including intensive practical courses in trial advocacy or interviewing, counselling and negotiation. 

Also available are opportunities to work at one of the law school’s three legal clinics:  the uOttawa-Ecojustice Environmental Law Clinic, the University of Ottawa Community Legal Clinic and the Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic (CIPPIC).  These clinics blend legal pedagogy with hands-on public interest and community advocacy, giving students access to practical training and experience.

Common Law’s many internal opportunities can help to equip students with everything they need to pursue a successful career in advocacy.

Moots

Each year, the Common Law Section sends advocacy teams across Canada and around the world to compete in a wide range of moot court competitions.  Students and coaches from the law school have succeeded in establishing the University of Ottawa as a leading institution in some of the most prestigious competitions at home and abroad.

Many competitors have also distinguished themselves with individual awards, demonstrating first-class advocacy skills and strong abilities in trial and arbitration scenarios.  The law school takes great pride in the performance and achievements of each of its teams, and salutes the hard work, dedication and team spirit of all coaches and competitors.


English Moots

Bilingual Moots

French Moots


Not all competitive moots are offered every year due to budgetary constraints.

If you have questions, email Professor Anthony Daimsis at adaimsis@uOttawa.ca.

Advocacy Courses
  • CML 2101 - Moot Court
  • CML 2320 - Mediation Theory and Practice
  • CML 2321 - Alternative Dispute Resolution Processes
  • CML 2501 - Tribunal-école
  • CML 3119 - Studies in Oral Advocacy
  • CML 3120 - Moot Court Competition
  • CML 3121 - Gale Cup Moot
  • CML 3125 - National Aboriginal Law Moot: Kawaskimhon “Speaking With Knowledge”
  • CML 3127 - Wilson Moot Competition
  • CML 3128 - Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Competition
  • CML 3132 - Willms & Shier Environmental Law Moot
  • CML 3139 - WTO/ELSA WTO Law Moot
  • CML 3140 - Canadian Corporate/Securities Competition
  • CML 3142 - Intellectual Property Advocacy (Harold G. Fox Intellectual Property Moot & Oxford International Intellectual Property Moot)
  • CML 3154 - Trial Advocacy
  • CML 3158 - Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy
  • CML 3165 - Arnup Cup
  • CML 3180 - Environmental Law Clinic
  • CML 3234 - Labour Law II
  • CML 3248 - Introduction Legal Aid Clinic Course
  • CML 3250 - Advanced Clinical Course in Community Law
  • CML 3313 - Interviewing and Counselling
  • CML 3315 - Negotiation
  • CML 3317 - Corporate Immigration Advocacy
  • CML 3366 - Collaborative Family Law Practice
  • CML 3385 - International Trade and Investment Law Practicum
  • CML 3388 - Intellectual Property Litigation
  • CML 3391 - Dispute Resolution in Family Law
  • CML 3449 - Clinical Legal Aid II
  • CML 3450 - Clinical Legal Aid III
  • CML 3514 - Concours Charles-Rousseau
  • CML 3515 - Coupe Guy-Guerin
  • CML 3516 - Concours européen des Droits de l'Homme René-Cassin
  • CML 3518 - Concours Jean-Pictet
  • CML 3519 - Études en plaidoirie
  • CML 3520 - Compétition de tribunal-école
  • CML 3524 - Tribunal-école Moncton-Ottawa
  • CML 3534 - Droit du travail II: arbitrage en griefs
  • CML 3554 - Art de la plaidoirie
  • CML 3569 - Arbitrage international
  • CML 3648 - Clinique juridique I: Introduction
  • CML 3744 - Droit fiscal approfondi
  • CML 3774 - Méthode de rechange pour le règlement des différends
  • CML 3849 - Clinique pratique d'aide juridique II
  • CML 3850 - Clinique pratique d'aide juridique III
  • CML 3922 - Tribunal-école international Philip C. Jessup/Philip C. Jessup International Moot
  • CML 3923 - Coupe Laskin/Laskin Moot Court
  • CML 4100 - Dispute Resolution Practicum
  • CML 4116 - Advanced Refugee Law
  • CML 4305 - Advocacy Before International Tribunals
  • CML 4500 - Stage en résolution de différends

Graduate Studies

The University of Ottawa offers programs in law at the master’s and doctoral levels. Our programs provide students with an opportunity to work with Canada’s top public law scholars on core questions of public law as well as on emerging and evolving issues.

Master of Laws (LLM)

The LL.M. program facilitates rigorous academic study of pressing public questions. To learn more, we invite you to read about the degree requirements and faculty members working in this field.

Ph.D. Students

The Ph.D. degree provides students with advanced training in academic research to prepare them to pursue a career in academe. These research skills can also be used to pursue careers with governmental and non-governmental organizations, international organizations, and other policy organizations. The admission process is competitive and only the most outstanding applicants are selected. For information on how to apply to the Ph.D. program, please click here.

Back to top

Welcome to

The Common Law Section has always enjoyed a reputation for graduating some of the greatest advocates in Ontario.  Our earliest graduates tell us uOttawa excelled in advocacy competitions from the very beginning.

Welcome to Advocacy at uOttawa

La Section de common law s’est toujours enorgueillie de sa réputation d’avoir produit certains des meilleurs avocats plaidants en Ontario. Selon nos plus anciens diplômés, l’Université d’Ottawa se distingue en effet depuis ses débuts dans les concours de plaidoirie. La tradition se perpétue puisque aujourd’hui encore bon nombre de nos diplômés sont des chefs de file dans l’art de plaider devant une grande diversité de tribunaux.

Depuis les 50 dernières années, même si notre Faculté de droit a connu de nombreux changements, notre engagement envers l’apprentissage des techniques de plaidoirie est demeuré intact. Ce qui a peut-être un peu changé cependant, c’est notre conception de l’art de la plaidoirie, dans la mesure où de nos jours, la représentation juridique se déroule non seulement dans les tribunaux de première instance et d’appel, mais également devant des tribunaux administratifs, des instances internationales, de même qu’en matière de négociation, de règlement amiable et de médiation.

JD Students

Tous les étudiants et étudiantes de première année ont la possibilité de prendre part à l’un de nos tribunaux-écoles internes, qu’il s’agisse du tribunal-école Nelligan O’Brien Payne ou du concours de plaidoirie Heenan Blaikie. Chaque étudiant, étudiante de première année doit prendre un cours intensif de trois semaines en matière de résolution des différends. Par la suite, les étudiants, étudiantes des années supérieures peuvent choisir parmi une vaste gamme de cours optionnels dans ce domaine. Nous encadrons nombre d’équipes de plaideurs qui participent à de tels concours et remportent d’éclatantes victoires sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Opportunities

La Section de common law offre une vaste gamme d’occasions à l’interne pour les étudiantes et étudiants désireux de poursuivre leur formation en techniques de plaidoirie. Nos deux concours de plaidoirie internes, le tribunal-école Nelligan O’Brien Payne et le tribunal-école Heenan Blaikie, offrent aux étudiants la possibilité d’acquérir une expérience de première main dans le cadre d’appels fictifs tout en améliorant leurs aptitudes à la plaidoirie, tant orale qu’écrite.

La participation à un concours de plaidoirie en première année permet aux étudiants d’évaluer s’ils possèdent à la fois les capacités et l’envie de poursuivre dans cette voie et de prendre part à d’autres concours de ce type offerts au cours des années supérieures. Nous parrainons différentes équipes de plaideurs qui ont remporté des victoires au niveau national et international dans des domaines aussi variés que le droit pénal et l’arbitrage commercial international. Au cours de leurs 2e et 3e années, les étudiants peuvent choisir parmi différents cours facultatifs axés sur les techniques de représentation juridique, notamment des cours pratiques intensifs sur la plaidoirie en première instance ou les techniques d’interrogatoire, de « counselling » et de négociation.  

Il est également possible de travailler dans l’une des trois cliniques de la faculté de droit, soit la Clinique de droit de l’environnement de l’Université d’Ottawa-Ecojustice, la Clinique juridique communautaire de l’Université d’Ottawa et la Clinique d'intérêt public et de politique d'Internet du Canada Samuelson-Glushko (CIPPIC). L’apprentissage dans ces cliniques combine la  théorie du droit avec une expérience pratique de la représentation juridique en faveur de l’intérêt public et de la collectivité, ce qui permet aux étudiants d’acquérir de l’expérience en matière de plaidoirie.

La Section de common law est dotée de tout l’arsenal nécessaire à l’étudiante ou l’étudiant désireux de poursuivre une fructueuse carrière d’avocat plaidant.

Moots

Chaque année, la Section de common law envoie des équipes de plaideurs dans l’ensemble du Canada et dans le monde entier pour prendre part à divers concours de plaidoirie. Ces équipes d’étudiants et leurs entraîneurs ont permis à l’Université d’Ottawa de se bâtir une réputation de chef de file, grâce aux victoires éclatantes remportées dans certains des concours de plaidoirie les plus prestigieux, au Canada comme à l’étranger.

Bon nombre de participants se sont également distingués en recevant des récompenses, à titre individuel, en raison des solides habiletés et techniques qu’ils ont démontrées lors de ces procès fictifs, aussi bien en première instance qu’en appel. La faculté de droit s’enorgueillit à juste titre des exploits et accomplissements de chacune de ses équipes et félicite les étudiants comme leurs entraîneurs pour leur travail acharné, leur détermination et leur esprit d’équipe.

Plaidoirie en français

Plaidoirie bilingue

Plaidoirie en anglais


Il convient de noter qu'en raison de contraintes budgétaires, la Section ne peut envoyer une équipe à tous les tribunaux inter universitaires chaque année.

Si vous avez des questions, prière de communiquer avec le professeur Anthony Daimsis anthony.daimsis@uOttawa.ca.

Advocacy Courses
  • CML 2101 - Moot Court
  • CML 2320 - Mediation Theory and Practice
  • CML 2321 - Alternative Dispute Resolution Processes
  • CML 2501 - Tribunal-école
  • CML 3119 - Studies in Oral Advocacy
  • CML 3120 - Moot Court Competition
  • CML 3121 - Gale Cup Moot
  • CML 3125 - National Aboriginal Law Moot: Kawaskimhon “Speaking With Knowledge”
  • CML 3127 - Wilson Moot Competition
  • CML 3128 - Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Competition
  • CML 3132 - Willms & Shier Environmental Law Moot
  • CML 3139 - WTO/ELSA WTO Law Moot
  • CML 3140 - Canadian Corporate/Securities Competition
  • CML 3142 - Intellectual Property Advocacy (Harold G. Fox Intellectual Property Moot & Oxford International    Intellectual Property Moot)
  • CML 3154 - Trial Advocacy
  • CML 3158 - Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy
  • CML 3165 - Arnup Cup
  • CML 3180 - Environmental Law Clinic
  • CML 3234 - Labour Law II
  • CML 3248 - Introduction Legal Aid Clinic Course
  • CML 3250 - Advanced Clinical Course in Community Law
  • CML 3313 - Interviewing and Counselling
  • CML 3315 - Negotiation
  • CML 3317 - Corporate Immigration Advocacy
  • CML 3366 - Collaborative Family Law Practice
  • CML 3385 - International Trade and Investment Law Practicum
  • CML 3388 - Intellectual Property Litigation
  • CML 3391 - Dispute Resolution in Family Law
  • CML 3449 - Clinical Legal Aid II
  • CML 3450 - Clinical Legal Aid III
  • CML 3514 - Concours Charles-Rousseau
  • CML 3515 - Coupe Guy-Guerin
  • CML 3516 - Concours européen des Droits de l'Homme René-Cassin
  • CML 3518 - Concours Jean-Pictet
  • CML 3519 - Études en plaidoirie
  • CML 3520 - Compétition de tribunal-école
  • CML 3524 - Tribunal-école Moncton-Ottawa
  • CML 3534 - Droit du travail II: arbitrage en griefs
  • CML 3554 - Art de la plaidoirie
  • CML 3569 - Arbitrage international
  • CML 3648 - Clinique juridique I: Introduction
  • CML 3744 - Droit fiscal approfondi
  • CML 3774 - Méthode de rechange pour le règlement des différends
  • CML 3849 - Clinique pratique d'aide juridique II
  • CML 3850 - Clinique pratique d'aide juridique III
  • CML 3922 - Tribunal-école international Philip C. Jessup/Philip C. Jessup International Moot
  • CML 3923 - Coupe Laskin/Laskin Moot Court
  • CML 4100 - Dispute Resolution Practicum
  • CML 4116 - Advanced Refugee Law
  • CML 4305 - Advocacy Before International Tribunal
  • CML 4500 - Stage en résolution des différends

Études supérieures

L’Université d’Ottawa offre des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat en droit. Nos programmes donnent aux étudiantes et étudiants la possibilité de travailler avec les chercheurs en droit public les plus éminents du Canada sur des questions fondamentales de droit public ainsi que sur des enjeux émergents.

Master of Laws (LLM)

Le programme de maîtrise en droit (LL.M.) favorise l’étude universitaire rigoureuse de questions publiques urgentes. Pour en savoir davantage, nous vous invitons à consulter les descriptions relatives aux exigences du grade et la liste des membres du corps professoral qui œuvrent dans ce domaine.

Ph.D. Students

Le grade de Ph. D. permet aux étudiantes et étudiants ayant une formation de niveau avancé en recherche universitaire de se préparer à poursuivre une carrière en enseignement universitaire. Les doctorants peuvent également mettre à profit ces compétences en recherche pour faire carrière auprès d’organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales, d’organisations internationales et d’autres organisations axées sur les politiques. Le processus d’admission est compétitif et seuls les meilleurs candidats et candidates sont retenus. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les modalités de candidature au programme de doctorat (Ph. D.), veuillez cliquer ici.

Haut de page