Orientation 2020


Welcome to the Common Law Program at the University of Ottawa

Dear Incoming 1Ls,

Congratulations and welcome to the English Common Law Program at the University of Ottawa!

We are developing an exciting academic orientation that will prepare you for success in your first year of law school. All materials for the 2020 Orientation have been posted on Brightspace.

The Orientation will include both asynchronous activities and a small number of synchronous activities taking place on September 3, September 4, and September 8, 2020. All events (other than social activities) are mandatory. The events will be close captioned. Where possible, synchronous activities will be recorded and posted in the Brightspace page. A draft schedule has been posted in the Orientation Brightspace page and is available here. Students will receive confidential links to the event through Brightspace on the morning of September 3, 2020. No registration is required.

Please contact the Director of the First Year Program, Jamie Liew (Jamie.Liew@uOttawa.ca), with any orientation-related questions.

We look forward to welcoming you into our vibrant, diverse and inclusive community.

Professor Jamie Chai Yun Liew, Director of the First Year Program
Professor Kyle Kirkup, Orientation Coordinator

Orientation Materials

Draft Orientation Schedule - English

Campus Map

Baladroit uOttawa, A New Podcast Co-Hosted by Professor Kyle Kirkup and Professor Anne Levesque

Subscribe on Apple Podcasts

Subscribe on Spotify

Subscribe on Simplecast

Subscribe on YouTube (with close captioning)



Archived Orientation Podcasts

Orientation podcasts, featuring Craig Forcese and friends

Virtual tour of Ottawa legal landmarks

Brian Dickson Law Library Services


Important Dates
Happening in the Law School
Services for Students
Orientation Faculty

Director, First Year Program:

Jamie Chai Yun Liew


Orientation Coordinator:

Kyle Kirkup

The Rules
Mental Health and Wellness
Learning Strategies
Back to top