Yasir Naqvi, LL.B. 1999, awarded 2019 Lincoln Alexander Award by the Ontario Law Society

Posted on Thursday, March 14, 2019

Yasir Naqvi, LL.B. 1999, was awarded the 2019 Lincoln Alexander Award by the Ontario Law Society on Thursday, March 13.

After graduating from the University of Ottawa Common Law Program in 1991, Yasir Naqvi, a first generation Canadian, was called to the Bar in 2001. He was recognized for his commitment to community programs and initiatives aimed at bringing people together and building up marginalized communities. Minister of three major portfolios, and as the first Attorney General of Ontario of Muslim faith, he has led significant justice reforms across the province.

The award was created in honour of The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, PC, CC, OOnt, CD, QC, LSM, to reward his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community. Established in 2002, it is awarded annually by the Ontario Law Society in recognition of an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated long-standing interest and commitment to the public and to the pursuit of community service on behalf of residents of Ontario.

Other 2019 Ontario Law Society Award Recipients Announced Are:


Law Society Medal

Aldo Braida 

Tom Curry

Professor Jeffery Hewitt 

Cheryl Milne

Guy Pratte 

Professor Carol Rogerson

Susan Ursel 

Frank Walwyn


Laura Legge Award

Pamela Cross


J. Shirley Denison Award

Amanda Ross


William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award

Jennifer Gravel Vanasse

Back to top