The streak continues! uOttawa Common Law Teams return home from Walsh Negotiation Competition with First and Second Place for Best Individual Student

Posted on Thursday, March 21, 2019

For the fifth consecutive year, both University of Ottawa teams brought home some of the top prizes from the Walsh Family Law Negotiation Competition. The competition was held on March 9, 2019 at the Law Society in Toronto with competitors from across Ontario, Calgary and Saskatchewan. From uOttawa Team 2, Robert Barnes won first place for Best Individual Student and from uOttawa Team 1, Rachel Zweig won second place for Best Individual Student.  

Our Walsh Negotiation team was comprised of Robert Barnes (3L), Melissa Morton (3L), Janet Son (3L), Jessica Visser (2L) and Rachel Zweig (2L). These five students earned their spot on uOttawa’s competitive Walsh Negotiation team after winning the local negotiation competition in the fall, known as the BLG Negotiation Competition. The BLG Negotiation Competition is organized by Professor Rockman in collaboration with Katherine Cooligan, LL.B. 1989, (Regional Managing Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP) and generously sponsored by BLG at their Ottawa offices. 

The University of Ottawa has achieved tremendous success each year at the Walsh Negotiation Competition since its inception five years ago. Our school’s record of achievement now stands at:

  • 2015 and 2016 - Team Category: First and Second place; Best Individual Student Category: First place
  • 2017 and 2018 - Best Individual Student Category: Second and Third place
  • 2019 - Best Individual Student Category: First and Second place

The Walsh Negotiation Competition team is coached by Professor Lynn Rockman.

Professor Rockman gratefully acknowledges the time and assistance generously provided by several BLG lawyers (Katherine Cooligan, Erin Durant, Mary Cybulski and Brad Yaeger); Dan Hohnstein of Tereposky & DeRose LLP; as well as current and former uOttawa common law students (Sarvenaz Assadpour, Elizabeth Kabesh, Angela Livingstone, Crystal McConkey and Alaina Woolfrey). 

Back to top