Professors Jane Bailey and Valerie Steeves among co-investigators in $2.5 million SSHRC Partnership Grant to address rape culture on university campuses

Posted on Thursday, September 29, 2016

Image of Professor Bailey

A partnership, led by Shaheen Shariff of McGill University, has been awarded a seven-year $2.5 million grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) to investigate and develop policy and practice models to dismantle rape culture in universities.


The project will engage law, arts and media sector partners, academics and collaborators to propel universities into reclaiming their central role of research and education as it relates to deeply embedded intersecting forms of misogyny, sexism, homophobia, and related forms of discrimination – often described as “rape culture”. This partnership of 9 universities, 14 community partners, 24 academics and 13 collaborators will engage the most comprehensive effort to date to change the culture and practices of sexual violence on Canadian university campuses.


The University of Ottawa, as represented by the Faculty of Law (Common Law Section) and the Faculty of Social Sciences, is pleased to announce that among the project’s co-investigators are Professors Jane Bailey of the Common Law Section and member of the Centre for Law, Technology and Society (CLTS) and the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) and Valerie Steeves of the Department of Criminology.


Professors Bailey and Steeves bring their experience from examining girls’ and young women’s experiences with online social networking in The eGirls Project and examining cyberviolence in their current SSHRC-funded partnership The eQuality Project to this new research project. In particular, they will apply their expertise in criminology, law, privacy, equality, and human rights to the analysis of the role of law and the justice system in addressing rape culture as well as in the development of evidence-based policy guidelines and recommendations.


Congratulations Professors Bailey, Steeves and to all involved in Professor Shariff’s team!

Back to top