Professor Nathalie Des Rosiers named Trudeau Foundation Mentor

Posted on Monday, May 11, 2020

Congratulations to Professor Nathalie Des Rosiers on being named one of the seven Trudeau Foundation Mentors for 2020.

Professor Des Rosiers is currently the Principal of Massey College at the University of Toronto and a former MPP for Ottawa-Vanier (2016-2019). Prior to these positions, she was Dean of the Faculty of Law, Common Law Section. She served as the General Counsel for the Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA) from 2009 to 2013.

Prior to her appointment to the CCLA, Me Des Rosiers was Interim Vice-President - Governance for the University of Ottawa (2008-2009), Dean of the Civil Law Section (2004-2008) and President of the Law Commission of Canada (2000-2004). She was in private practice in Montreal and London, Ont. and was professor of law at Western Law School for many years. She was a member of the Environmental Appeal Board of Ontario, of the Pay Equity Board of Ontario, a Commissioner of the Ontario Law Reform Commission and a Board member of the Law Commission of Ontario. She also served as the President of the Federation of Social Sciences and Humanities, President of the Council of Law Deans, President of the Canadian Association of Law Teachers and of the Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario.

The Trudeau Foundation Mentors Program focusses on the leadership development of the Trudeau Foundation doctoral Scholars, empowering them to have meaningful impact in the world. Mentors act as leadership trainers, guides, and advisors to Scholars during the three-year program.

Mentors are accomplished leaders from various sectors and professional domains, whose professional achievements reflect the range of skills [that] are of great value to future engaged leaders. That includes, for instance: communication and public engagement, team and project management, entrepreneurial skills, social innovation, negotiation, networking, artistic skills to connect the mind, body and heart, and emotional skills in the face of adversity.

The other 2020 Trudeau Foundation Mentors are : Eric Meslin, Bob Haverluck, Janice McDonald, Beverley McLachlin, Patrice Sauvé and Denise Williams.

Congratulations, Professor Nathalie Des Rosiers!


Back to top