Professor Martha Jackman Elected to Royal Society of Canada

Posted on Thursday, September 7, 2017

The Common Law Section is proud to announce that Professor Martha Jackman has been selected as a new fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC), distinguishing her as one of Canada’s most valued and important scholars.  She will be formally inducted at the RSC’s celebration of excellence on November 24, 2017, in Winnipeg.

The RSC is Canada’s senior national academy.  It “exists to promote Canadian research and scholarly accomplishment in both of Canada’s official languages, to mentor young scholars and artists, to recognize academic and artistic excellence, and to advise governments, non-governmental organizations, and Canadians generally on matters of public interest” (RSC Mandate, Mission and Vision).  The RSC’s prestigious membership includes over 2,000 Canadian scholars, artists, and scientists, peer-elected as the best in their field.  They are recognized as distinguished men and women who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian life.

Professor Jackman is one of Canada’s leading scholars on socio-economic and equality rights for the poor. Over more than 25 years of research, writing, litigation, education and advocacy she has committed herself to defending the rights of people living in poverty in Canada.  Whether as a pioneering scholar in the field of socio-economic rights, a legal educator dedicated to exposing the plight of neglected populations, or a litigator in many highly significant Charter of Rights and Freedoms cases relating to social welfare rights, Professor Jackman has been an extraordinary champion for inclusiveness and a powerful example to the academy, the legal profession and the broader public of the unique and valuable role of the activist-scholar in advancing equality in Canada.  Her election to the Royal Society of Canada is a substantial recognition of the meaningful work she has done.

Congratulations to Professor Jackman on this exceptional achievement!

Click here to view a complete list of newly elected Fellows and their nomination citations.

Back to top