Professor Krishna appointed to the Judicial Advisory Committee for the Tax Court of Canada

Posted on Friday, October 27, 2017

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, announced appointments to the Judicial Advisory Committee (JAC) for the Tax Court of Canada on Friday, October 27, 2017. Faculty of Law, Common Law Professor Vern Krishna was selected as one of the appointees to the Committee.


JACs are independent bodies mandated to provide non-binding, merit-based recommendations to the Minister of Justice on federal judicial appointments. Committee members are appointed by the federal government by Order in Council for a two-year term. The JAC for the Tax Court of Canada is composed of five members from across Canada with expertise in taxation.


Vern Krishna has been a professor of taxation, business law, and corporate finance at the University of Ottawa since 1981. His scholarship has been cited in hundreds of Canadian cases, including 31 decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada. Prof. Krishna, who has taught and practised tax law for 50 years, is also tax counsel with Tax Chambers LLP in Toronto. He received an undergraduate degree in economics from the University of Manchester, before going on to receive an LL.B. and M.B.A. from the University of Alberta and an LL.M. from Harvard University.


Prof. Krishna twice served as a commissioner of the Ontario Securities Commission (1994-1997 and 2010-2014). He is a former president of the Certified General Accountants Association of Ontario (1995) and former treasurer of the Law Society of Upper Canada (2001-2003). In recognition of his accomplishments, Prof. Krishna was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1992 and became a member of the Order of Canada in 2004. He received an honorary doctorate from the Law Society of Upper Canada in 2004.


Judicial Advisory Committee Members:

Department of Justice News Release:


Congratulations to Prof. Krishna on his appointment!

Back to top