Professor Colleen Flood joins two leading COVID-19 policy groups

Posted on Friday, April 17, 2020

Professor Colleen Flood, Director of the Centre for Health Law, Policy and Ethics, has joined the C.D. Howe Institute Crisis Working Group on Public Health and Emergency Measures. The Group has released a communiqué addressing the poor coordination of laboratory infrastructure and shortages of personal protective equipment for front line workers, and the need for guidance for health care institutions on directing limited supplies and their reuse. The Group also notes places and populations where rapid testing with rigorous contact tracing and isolation could still keep the virus at bay.

Professor Flood has additionally been appointed to the Royal Society of Canada's Task Force on COVID-19, with a mandate to provide informed responses to major societal challenges in the response to and recovery from COVID-19. The Task Force is chaired by Tom Marrie (Dalhousie University) and includes Tim Caulfield (University of Alberta), Esyllt Jones (University of Manitoba), Sharon Straus (University of Toronto) and Jeff Turnbull (Ottawa Inner City Health).

Back to top