Professor Chartrand Receives Law Society’s Top Honour

Posted on Friday, March 10, 2017


Professor Larry Chartrand has been awarded the 2017 Law Society Medal, the Law Society of Upper Canada’s top honour.  The Medal is awarded every year to a select few lawyers who have made a significant contribution to the profession.

The award recognizes “outstanding service within the profession,” honouring practicing lawyers, legal academics, or individuals serving in other professional capacities connected to the legal profession.  As a leader and an innovator in the study of Aboriginal law, Professor Chartrand has been highly influential in putting Indigenous rights on the legal map.  He is widely recognized for his work on Aboriginal health and Indigenous self-determination, and he has gained an impeccable reputation among First Nations, Inuit and Metis people.  He tackles critical issues that are under-represented in the Canadian courts, contributing to the enrichment of Canadian law and national policy by demonstrating how our legal system can live up to its multi-juridical origins.  Professor Chartrand leads by example, bringing issues that concern Indigenous people to the broader legal community and challenging Canada’s institutions and policies to be more inclusive.

Since 1985, a very exclusive club of just over 100 Ontario lawyers have received the Law Society Medal.  Very few professors have received the honour, but astoundingly, Professor Chartrand is the eighth University of Ottawa Faculty member to win the Law Society's highest accolade.  Professors Errol Mendes, Nathalie Des Rosiers, Adam Dodek, Constance Backhouse, Stewart Elgie, Vern Krishna and Martha Jackman‎ have also won this prestigious award.

Award winners will be honoured at the Law Society’s annual award ceremony on May 24, 2017 at Osgoode Hall.

Congratulations to Professor Chartrand on this well-deserved award!

Back to top