Professor Carissima Mathen Receives Law Society’s Top Honour

Posted on Monday, March 12, 2018

Carissima Mathen and the Law Society of Ontario Medal

Professor Carissima Mathen has been awarded the Law Society Medal, the Law Society of Ontario’s top honour. The Medal is awarded every year to a select few lawyers who have made a significant contribution to the profession.


The award recognizes “outstanding service within the profession,” honouring practicing lawyers, legal academics, or individuals serving in other professional capacities connected to the legal profession. An innovative and nationally-renowned expert in constitutional law, Professor Mathen has played a critical role in bringing to light issues relating to women’s equality, same-sex marriage, and Supreme Court of Canada appointments. Through all of her work, Professor Mathen demonstrates a deep commitment to making law accessible. She has made crucial breakthroughs in her research on complex and controversial topics, ultimately enabling a fuller understanding of Canada’s constitution and its impact on Canadians. She is also an innovator at the leading edge of how legal information is disseminated, forging a path for more effective public legal education, and demonstrating simultaneously an ability to influence public opinion and to help shape the laws of this country.


In addition to Professor Mathen, two alumni from the Common Law Section’s class of 1993 will also be receiving the honour:  Kathleen Lickers and Gilles LeVasseur. Click here to read more about these two exceptional graduates.


Since 1985, a very exclusive club of Ontario lawyers have received the Law Society Medal.  Very few professors have received the honour, but amazingly, Professor Mathen is the ninth University of Ottawa Faculty member to win the Law Society's highest accolade.  Professors Larry Chartrand, Errol Mendes, Nathalie Des Rosiers, Constance Backhouse, Stewart Elgie, Vern Krishna, Martha Jackman, and Dean Adam Dodek‎ have also won this prestigious award.


Award winners will be honoured at the Law Society’s annual award ceremony on May 23, 2018 at Osgoode Hall.


Congratulations to Professor Mathen on this well-deserved award!

Back to top