Fall 2018: What’s new at the law school

Posted on Thursday, September 13, 2018

Faculty of Law, Common Law Section Logo

The 2018 Fall Term is upon us at the Faculty of Law, Common Law Section. A number of exciting changes have taken place at the law school since last spring. Here is an overview of notable announcements and appointments:


New Courses


Blockchain: Common Law Professor Florian Martin-Bariteau announced last March the creation of a new blockchain-focused legal lab at the University of Ottawa. The first of its kind in Canada, the lab will provide curricular content for law students around blockchain technology and cryptocurrency. The Common Law Section announced last spring that, for the 2018-2019 academic year, students at uOttawa will be able to sign up for a new innovative bilingual course on Blockchain, Law and Society.

Cannabis Law: The Faculty announced last April the creation of two courses in Cannabis Law, a first in Canada. Courses will be offered in English and French. Expert lawyers Joël M. Dubois and Megan D. Wallace from Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall LLP are slated to teach the English course while Diane Labelle, General Counsel, Health Canada Legal Services will teach the French.


New Appointments and Nominations


Neuberger-Jesin Professor of International Conflict Resolution: Professor John Packer has been appointed the inaugural Neuberger-Jesin Professor of International Conflict Resolution at the University of Ottawa. The appointment is for an initial three year term. The Professorship was created thanks to a generous gift by spouses Edie Neuberger and Norm Jesin, who attended the Faculty of Law, Common Law Section together and graduated in 1981.

Hyman Soloway Chair: Professor Tony VanDuzer was appointed as the new Hyman Soloway Chair in Business and Trade Law, a post he will occupy for the next two years.  Professor VanDuzer takes over the Soloway Chair from Professor Debra Steger who completed her two-year tenure on June 30, 2018.

uOttawa Research Chair in Canadian Francophonie: Professor François Larocque has been awarded the Canadian Francophonie Research Chair in Language Rights. The University of Ottawa established the Research Chairs in Canadian Francophonie to help lay the foundation for a strong network of researchers with shared interests in Canada’s French-speaking communities. Professor Larocque’s five-year mandate began on July 1st, 2018.


Public Service Mentor-in-Residence: The Common Law Section is pleased to welcome back Elizabeth Sanderson (LL.B. 1979), who returns to the Faculty of Law for the 2018-19 academic year to serve as our inaugural Public Service Mentor-in-Residence. She will also teach the first year course Introduction to Public and Constitutional Law.

Coordinator of Family Law Programming: Faculty of Law Sessional Professor Lynn Rockman has been appointed to serve as the Faculty’s Coordinator of Family Law Programming. Professor Rockman will coordinate existing Family Law programming within the Faculty as well as develop a plan to expand opportunities and offerings for our students.


Thomas Feeney Visiting Professor: Stephanie Ben-Ishai, Full Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, was named the Thomas Feeney Visiting Professor for 2018-2019. Professor Ben-Ishai is an expert on insolvency, corporate governance and commercial law.

Hyman Soloway Visiting Professor: Michael Ewing-Chow, Associate Professor, National University of Signapore, is the Faculty’s Hyman Soloway Visiting Professor for 2018-2019. An expert in World Trade Law, Company Law and ASEAN Economic Law, he has worked as a consultant to the Singapore Government, the World Bank and the WTO.

Back to top