Dean Adam Dodek Awarded CALT Prize for Academic Excellence

Posted on Tuesday, June 5, 2018

On Thursday, May 31, Dean Adam Dodek was presented with the 2018 Canadian Association of Law Teachers (CALT) Prize for Academic Excellence.  The award honours exceptional contributions to research and law teaching by a Canadian law teacher in mid-career.  Dean Dodek is one of two winners of this award for 2018, sharing the honour with Professor Joanna Harrington of the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Law. 

The 2018 award winners were announced at the Association for Canadian Clinical Legal Education (ACCLE) and CALT joint conference at Queen’s University (May 31-June 2, 2018).

“I am incredibly honoured to receive this prestigious award, and particularly proud that the research we are doing at the Common Law Section has received recognition from our peers across Canada,” said Dean Dodek. “The Canadian Association of Law Teachers is an important leader and an important voice in legal education in this country.”

Through his dedication to bringing fresh perspectives on public law, legal ethics and professionalism to his research and into the classroom, Dean Dodek has continuously provided an essential service, not just to young lawyers, but to the profession as a whole. His research provides creative takes on important issues of public law, helps to connect the general public with legal matters of great relevance to Canadians in their everyday lives, and forges new paths in scholarship about the legal profession and where it is headed.

Despite being an extremely productive researcher, Dean Dodek takes the necessary time to cultivate important relationships as a mentor, and develop proven methods as an innovative teacher. Through it all, he keeps a keen eye on both his students’ futures and the future of the profession, developing and imparting the skills and knowledge that will help solve tomorrow’s legal problems by ensuring that today’s young legal minds are equipped to think beyond their textbooks.

Dean Dodek is the fourth member of the Common Law Section to earn this award.  Professor Bruce Feldthusen won the honour in 2000 (in his first year as Dean, just like Dean Dodek); Professor Teresa Scassa won the honour in 2014; and Professor Jeremy de Beer was the winner in 2016.  Only Osgoode Hall has hosted as many winners of this award.

In addition to the Academic Excellence Award, CALT also grants a prestigious scholarly paper award, and an award for scholarship in teaching and learning. Previous recipients of the Scholarly Paper award include Denis Boivin (1999) and Michael Geist (2002), and Professor Rakhi Ruparelia was the inaugural recipient of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award in 2016.

Members of the Common Law Section also play a significant role within CALT. Professor David Wiseman currently serves as President of the Board of Directors, Professor Angela Cameron serves as Secretary, and Professor Craig Forcese sits as Past-President.

Congratulations to Dean Dodek on this well-deserved recognition!


Back to top