uOttawa Wins Award at ELSA WTO Moot in Colombia

Posted on Friday, March 17, 2017

uOttawa ELSA WTO 2017 mooting team

The University of Ottawa Common Law team of Annie Zhuang (3L), Hassan Rasmi (2L), Paul Burbank (2L) and Steven Marmer (2L) competed in the All American Regional Round of the 15th European Law Students’ Association (ELSA) World Trade Organization Moot Competition, at the Universidad de los Andes in Bogota, Colombia from March 1 – 4, 2017. 

The uOttawa team reached the semi-finals, where they competed against a Georgetown University team in a hard-fought round in front of an active panel of WTO experts. The Georgetown and Harvard teams advanced to the World Round in Geneva, Switzerland. During the Regional Round, the University of Ottawa team was praised by the panelists for its strong oral advocacy skills, likeable presentation style, sound knowledge of the jurisprudence and effective teamwork.

The University of Ottawa team was awarded the ‘Best Complainant Written Submission’ for North America. As a result of this prize, the team members were awarded specialized courses in international trade and economic law at the University of Barcelona’s renowned International Economic Law and Policy (IELPO) program.  

The team is truly grateful for the direction, training and support provided by their coaches Kevin Gray (Counsel) and Robert Brookfield (Director-General) of Global Affairs Canada’s Trade Law Bureau (JLT). The team would not have been as successful in their written or oral submissions without the guidance of these hard-working coaches. Additional acknowledgments go out to all of the lawyers at JLT, private practitioners and professors who graciously volunteered their time to act as panelists as the team prepared for the Regional Round in Bogota.

Click here to read more about the University of Ottawa’s international trade law program.

Click here to read more about the ELSA/WTO Moot. 

Congratulations to the team on their performance!


uOttawa 2017 ELSA WTO Moot Team

University of Ottawa team, from left: Steven Marmer (2L), Hassan Rasmi (2L), Kevin Gray (Coach), Annie Zhuang (3L), Paul Burbank (2L).


Back to top